Arkansas Energy Office Awards Funds For CNG Fueling Stations


The Arkansas Energy Office (AEO) has selected Satterfield Oil Co., in Conway, and the City of Little Rock to each receive a $235,000 grant to add compressed natural gas (CNG) to existing fueling stations.

‘For Arkansas to make significant advances in alternative fuels, we need to build an infrastructure that supports their use,’ Gov. Mike Beebe said in a statement. ‘These new compressed natural gas stations will give more Arkansans easier access to another domestic fuel choice.’

The AEO says it chose the grant applicants based on a number of factors, such as emissions reductions and job creation. The capital was provided through oil overcharge funds and senate general improvement funds.

The office notes that it also administers a rebate program for CNG vehicle conversions that provides a rebate of up to 50% of the cost of a conversion or the incremental cost of purchasing a new CNG vehicle. These rebates are supported through federal stimulus funds.

Notify of
Inline Feedbacks
View all comments