Kia Extends Soul EV Availability to Northeast States


Following the launch of the Soul EV late last year in California, along with sales beginning in Georgia, Texas, Oregon, Washington and Hawaii earlier this year, Kia Motors America (KMA) is expanding availability of its all-electric car into four new states: New York, New Jersey, Connecticut and Maryland.

KMA's announcement will bring the total number of states selling the Soul EV to 10. Nineteen Kia dealers will be certified to sell and service the Soul EV across these four new states, and customers will have access to charging stations installed at these facilities. The Soul EV will be sold in eight New York dealerships, six New Jersey dealerships, three Maryland dealerships and two Connecticut dealerships.

‘Kia's sales strategy for the Soul EV has been progressive and pragmatic since its launch late last year,’ says Orth Hedrick, vice president of product planning at KMA. ‘California consumers created a high level of demand, and the state's large infrastructure made it a natural place to start. Between consumer reaction to the Soul EV and growing infrastructure programs in states such as these in the Northeast, this is a logical – and exciting – next step in our rollout plan.’

Soul EV sales in the Northeast will begin in the fourth quarter.

Notify of
Inline Feedbacks
View all comments